Our School

Mission Statement

St. Mary’s, Star of the Sea is a boys Catholic, primary school which strives to provide a structured, caring, happy and secure environment where the intellectual, spiritual, physical, moral and cultural needs of the pupils are identified and addressed. We will strive to provide an appropriate education for every child in our school.

Characteristic Spirit

Star of the Sea school welcomes and is inclusive of all faiths and none.
However the policies, practices and attitudes of the school are inspired by the values of the Christian Gospel. Prayer is a regular feature of the school day and the celebration of the Christian Liturgical seasons is a part of the rhythm of the school year.

The School will strive to promote, both individually and collectively, the professional and personal development of teachers through staff development programmes.

The School will encourage the involvement of parents /guardians in their children’s education through home / school contacts and through their involvement in the Star of the Sea Parents’ Association.

The School will endeavour to enhance the self-esteem of everyone in the school community, to imbue in the pupils respect for people and property and to encourage in them the idea of being responsible.

We will promote gender equity among the staff and pupils.

Déanfaimid iarracht Gaeilge a labhairt.

The school motto is: Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí


School Year 2018-2019

The Star of the Sea has 20 teachers including the Principal. There are 14 mainstream teachers, 5 Special Educational Needs Teachers and 4 Special Needs Assistants

Principal: Mr Niall Walsh
Deputy Principal: Ms Joan Finnerty
Junior Infants A – Ms Aoife McCarthy
Junior Infants B – Ms Julianne Ahern
Senior Infants A – Ms Niamh Caffrey
Senior Infants B – Ms Aisling Judge
First Class A – Ms Elizabeth Walsh
First Class B – Ms Niamh Foley
Second Class A – Ms Joan Finnerty
Second Class B – Ms Dee Conway
Third Class  – Ms Linda Russell
Fourth Class A – Ms Tracey Ainscough
Fourth Class B – Mr Seamus O’Brollacháin
Fifth Class – Mr Daniel Collins
Fifth/Sixth Class – Mr Ronan O’Maonaile
Sixth Class – Mr Ronan Neary
Learning Support/Resource – Ms Maria Garvey
Learning Support/Resource – Ms Lisa Lacey
Learning Support/Resource – Ms Faye Mulhern
Learning Support/Resource – Ms Frances Kinnane
Learning Support/Resource – Ms Niamh Kelly
Special Needs Assistant – Ms Deirdre Hanlon / Ms Venilde Vasconcelos
Special Needs Assistant – Ms Christine Galvin
Special Needs Assistant – Ms Louise Conlon
School Secretary – Ms Liz Sheehy
School Caretaker – Mr Nick Gudimov

Board Of Management

The B.O.M has overall responsibility for the school, including finance, maintenance, staffing and the development of the school plan and policies. The Board comprises of two direct nominees of the Patron, two elected parents (a mother and a father) the Principal and one other teacher on the staff elected by vote of the teaching staff and two extra members proposed by these nominees. The Patron appoints the Chairperson of the board. The term of office for the Board of Management is 4 years. The school operates in accordance with the rules for national schools. The school depends on the grants and teacher resources provided by the D.E.S. Members of the Board of Management 2011-15

Chairperson Ciarán O Murchú
Parent Rep (Treasurer) Conor Spencer
Parent Rep Kate McGhee
Community Rep Niall Ó hUiginn
Community Rep Angela Collins
Teacher Rep Linda Russell
Patron’s Nominee Fr John McDonagh
Principal Niall Walsh

Parents Association

There is an active parents association in the Star of the Sea. The committee usually meets once a month. The PA liaises regularly with the Principal and provides a forum to raise issues and concerns, suggest and implement initiatives and organises fundraising activities.



Nothing from February 18, 2019 to March 17, 2019.

Star Of The Sea
Boys National School,
Dublin 4.
Roll No.: 15995L

p : 01-6686394
f : 01-6606678
e : office@starofthesea.ie